Love is (part 4)

So I am still working on loving well.  Today my focus will be “Love does not BOAST.”

Definition- a statement in which you express too much pride in yourself or in something you have, have done, or are connected to in some way (taken from Merriam Webster’s Dictionary).

Boasting is irritating to me– what about you?

moonwalkerMy husband and I have an inside joke about boastful people… It is taken from Brian Regan, a comedian, we often quote and you should go watch when you get a moment!!  In the Jones home, boastful people have been termed “moonwalkers”.  You haven’t done anything as good as they have.  You haven’t been anywhere cooler than they have.  You don’t own anything more awesome than they do.  And when you try to talk with a boastful person, be prepared for them to one-up you on everything you say.  So again, boastful people irritate me.  And when it comes to loving people well, boastfulness rates right up there with nails on a chalkboard.

So I hope you never find me boasting.  And if you do, please feel free to interrupt my boasting with, “really did you walk on the moon too?”  It is guaranteed to shut my mouth immediately!

However, boasting is apart of the love is, or in this case, is NOT, so I took some time to look up the verses with “boast” in them.  It talks about boasting because of Jesus’ sacrifice for me and boasting in God’s strength.  There are plenty of verses that speak out against boasting in your wealth and strength and background.  But the real kicker for me is 1 Corinthians 13:3, it ties loving and boasting together.

 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

So if you are boastful but don’t love, you gain nothing.  So to all the “moonwalkers” out there, which I don’t want to be, I hear Jesus saying stop it with the boasting and just live a life of love to those around you.  Anyone willing to join me??

Leave a Reply

