Christ is Enough

This week in A Confident Heart Online Bible study, we have been wrestling with the chapter on “When Doubt Whispers I’m Not Good Enough.”  

This morning in my car I heard this song and it really spoke to my heart in regards to these “not good enough feelings”.  I need to come to a place where I get my good enough from Jesus.

I have by no means mastered this. Actually just yesterday and today, I have been struggling ALOT.  But I am choosing to replace Satan’s lie of not good enough with Jesus’ promise found in Ephesians 1:3-12 (The Message version)

How blessed is God! And what a blessing he is! He’s the Father of our Master, Jesus Christ, and takes us to the high places of blessing in him. Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love, to be made whole and holy by his love. Long, long ago he decided to adopt us into his family through Jesus Christ. (What pleasure he took in planning this!) He wanted us to enter into the celebration of his lavish gift-giving by the hand of his beloved Son.  Because of the sacrifice of the Messiah, his blood poured out on the altar of the Cross, we’re a free people—free of penalties and punishments chalked up by all our misdeeds. And not just barely free, either. Abundantly free! He thought of everything, provided for everything we could possibly need, letting us in on the plans he took such delight in making. He set it all out before us in Christ, a long-range plan in which everything would be brought together and summed up in him, everything in deepest heaven, everything on planet earth.  It’s in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. Long before we first heard of Christ and got our hopes up, he had his eye on us, had designs on us for glorious living, part of the overall purpose he is working out in everything and everyone.

I don’t know about you but being the focus of God’s love to be made whole and holy through his love– that sounds like I am enough.

I am free, ABUNDANTLY FREE.  And I need to get on with glorious living that God has planned for me rather than wallowing in Satan’s pit of lies.

If I was enough for Christ to send His Son to die for me, then I need to let go of my HIGH AND UNREALISTIC EXPECTATIONS of myself and allow Christ to be enough for me.

4 thoughts on “Christ is Enough

  1. Beautiful! I loved how you said “I need to get on with glorious living that God has planned for me rather than wallowing in Satan’s pit of lies.” Ain’t that the truth!!! I’m gonna make it my goal to avoid the wallowing this weekend! Thanks for the uplifting words! 🙂

  2. Loved your post. Thanks for sharing the song , I have never heard that one before. I just read a chapter in a book that God’s name for me/us before we were ever born was “Mine .” He had already given us a name so we know we are good enough. How awesome is that. I loved how you said we need to get on with the glorious living that God planned for us. Blessings on your weekend .
    Marilyn(OBS Group Leader)

Leave a comment