#YestoGod- Week One

I am so excited to share with you what God is teaching me about saying YES to Him.

I am currently doing an online Bible study with Proverbs 31.  I have done them before, but when I heard they were doing “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God” I just had to sign up.  To be honest, I have had the book for over a year.  My darling husband got it for me as a gift.  When I opened this gift I thought, “Oh I LOVE Lysa T!!  I bet this book will be awesome! Oh (insert frowny face) I bet this book is gonna require some changes… how about you go into the pile of books to be read when I am ready to change.”  And there it sat!  Until this week.  What better time to dive in and allow Jesus to work in me than with 20,000 other women from around the world! 

Chapter One was fantastic!  The verse we are focusing on this week is Deuteronomy 6:5, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.”  And after reading Chapter One, I might add more “with all your _____” into that verse.   With all your PLANS!

In Chapter One, Lysa said

We have to set our rules and AGENDAS aside– our do’s and dont’s, our social graces and proper places — and follow God’s command.  His one requirement is so simple and yet so profoud: Whatever God says do, do it. That’s it.  That is the entire Bible, Old Testament and New, hundreds of pages, thousands of verses, all wrapped up in six words.”

This week I have clearly felt God’s pull on my heart to allow my plans to be HIS PLANS. But this is what is hardest for me when applying this #withallmyheart Scripture.  I am such a planner.  I plan my menu, my daily schedule, my kids schedules, my exercise schedule.  I even have a “plan” for things I can do when I get free time.  🙂  Now thankfully, not all planning is bad.  But I need to leave margin in my life so that I can be free to say YES to God. 

Dear God, Help me to create margin in my life.  Help me to not be so caught up in my plan for the day that I miss YOU.  Help me to have my palms up and my eyes wide open looking for You each day.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies

15 thoughts on “#YestoGod- Week One

  1. Yep, I am a planner too! Always planning everything…EVEN FREE TIME…just like you. I love your prayer at the bottom. I defnintely need to pray the same prayer.

  2. Margins! I love that word! I hadn’t thought about it that way, but I’m going to write that right now into my planner – put in space for God to use me for HIS plans – add margins!

    Great post (and you sound like you have a wonderful husband)!

    • It is a great word. And it is a great thing to have in life. If we are gonna be YES girls, there must be space for Him to work with.
      Thanks for hopping by!

    • Thanks for hopping by!
      It is incredible to know that we are studying together with women from all over the world. Yay God!!!

  3. I love this! Sounds much like one of my many struggles as well 😉 One awesome thing is that we can all help pray for each other throughout this study as we trust God to change ourselves, so that’s awesome! Change is tough, but with God all things are possible. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

