I Am Not a Door Mat

service

I saw this quote in Ann Voskamp’s blog earlier this week.  (http://www.aholyexperience.com/2013/01/5-things-you-need-to-know-before-you-begin-your-2nd-term-of-life/)  MAN, does it speak to my heart. 

Sometimes I feel like a doormat.  I feel like I allow those I love to walk on me because they know I will help them.  I think this attitude comes from the fact that the world thinks of serving as being a doormat– as allowing someone to walk on you or use you for dirty jobs.  And Satan would love to keep us from helping others and bringing joy to life. 

However, that is not how the Lord looks at it, nor is that the way He wants us to think about it.  By doing a quick word search in the Bible, you can see that serving is very important to God.  It is mentioned most in reference to choosing who you will serve, either God or Satan.  But the Bible also mentions serving those in our world. 

I believe if you choose to serve the Lord, then you also need to choose to serve those around you.  Your spouse. Your kids.  Your neighbors.  Your friends.  Your enemies.  Everyone.  You should choose to serve because it is an opportunity to bring joy into their life. 

Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others,

as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.

1 Peter 4:10

So the next time you feel the “doormat” attitude coming out, remember first who you are serving God or Satan.  Then choose to serve out of love.  The love you have for that person.  And the grace that has been shown to you through Christ.  Don’t let Satan win and you miss the opportunity to bring joy to someone today. 

Leave a Reply

