What Needs to Burn?

Burn the plow

In taking steps toward the greater life God has for me, one of the first steps is figuring out what things I am clinging to that keep my life ordinary.

While reading Greater, I have been asked to read the story of Elisha, the prophet, and learn from his journey of ordinary farmer to amazing prophet of the Lord.  I challenge you to read it as well.  You can find Elisha’s story by reading several portions of scripture– 1 Kings 19:19-21, 2 Kings 2:1-9:13, 2 Kings 13:14-21.

Elisha’s journey toward the greater life started in a field.  He was doing what he ordinarily did– plowing with oxen.  But when the prophet Elijah came to him and wrapped his cloak around him, he was getting to physically see and hear God’s greater call on his life.  Wouldn’t that be amazing? For a preacher to come up to you and say “God told me __________ is what you need to be doing with your life.  Leave your ordinary life behind and go do this greater things for God.”

But you know what?  Even with seeing and hearing the prophet say these things, Elisha didn’t just turn and go.  He said to Elijah, “Let me kiss my father and mother goodbye and then I will come with you.”  It seems as though Elisha is saying let me go talk this one over with my parents first and then I go.

After being slightly scolded by Elijah, Elisha does something pretty amazing.  He burns his plow then kills and cooks his oxen.  He can’t return to his ordinary life because there is nothing to return to.

Pastor Furtick says that “you can’t step into your new life until you first set fire to whatever is tethering you to your old life.  Before you can go forward into the life God has for you, you have to offer Him every part of the life you have.”

Really this all comes down to a matter of trusting God.  Trusting that He has my best interest at heart and that He has a plan for my life that is better than the ordinary life I have been wallowing in.  Another thing Pastor Furtick said that really struck a chord with me is

Approach the greater life knowing God has worked it all out in advance.  He’ll give you the day’s orders when you show up at the job site because He’s more interested in your full obedience than your full understanding.

I am earnestly seeking God to see what I have in my oridnary life that is keeping me from moving on to the greater things God has for me.  And I am asking that He will help me overcome my trust issues and allow Him access to every part of my life.

Your plow is what chains you to the ordinary.  What is it for you?

4 thoughts on “What Needs to Burn?

  1. Enjoyed your post. We do get comfortable in our ordinary lives. I retired but God led me to Melissa Taylor’s Bible Studies and so glad He did. My third. Love it! I am working on those chains – those things that keep me in the ordinary. Lifted a few this year and burned plows of being afraid to lead women and afraid to teach. I am doing both – leading an on-line group and teaching as a substitute with special-needs kids. God can remove that fear if we just burn those plows and listen and go “at once”. Thank you for sharing. Blessings. Debbie Williams (OBS Leader)

  2. Grace ❤
    Thank you for sharing these words ~ " In taking steps toward the greater life God has for me, one of the first steps is figuring out what things I am clinging to that keep my life ordinary." I need to start my day with that affirmation. It really keeps the perspective of one step at a time, affirming that only the greater life has for me is rising past the ordinary. And thank you for sharing your perspective. It really Blessed this OBS sister today.

  3. “He’ll give you the day’s orders WHEN YOU SHOW UP…” Those words leaped off the page at me when you quoted them in your blog. If I’m not willing to SHOW UP, God won’t give me any direction. So the longer I dilly-dally debating about what plows I need to burn, or whether I hear His whisper or it’s some intrusion, I’ll delay the opportunity to respond to God’s >Greater calling. Thanks for writing!! I needed that today.

Leave a Reply

