There is always something to be thankful for!

November is here which means that many people begin to remember all the reasons they have to be thankful.  This past year has been a journey toward gratitude for me.  I read the book 1000 Gifts by Ann Voskamp and it has totally changed the way I view life.  God has blessed me way beyond what I can ever be grateful for and alot of times I miss them because I am not looking. 

Also I have been on a journey toward imperfect progress with my raw emotions and reactions as I do my best to not be an unglued momma anymore.  I have learned a very important principle from Lysa:

“The more my heart is parked in a place of thanksgiving and rejoicing, the less I have room for grumpiness.”

This is easy to say and hard to practice.  Because honestly in the heat of the moment, I don’t want to look for things to be grateful for.  I want to make my list of reasons to be unglued.  I want to point my finger at all those people who have made me come unglued.  But that is not what God wants from this Jesus girl.  He wants me to be pointing others to Him in all circumstances in my life.  Paul says it this way in Philippians 4:4-8:

Be full of joy always because you belong to the Lord. Again I say, be full of joy! Let all people see how gentle you are. The Lord is coming again soon.  Do not worry. Learn to pray about everything. Give thanks to God as you ask Him for what you need.  The peace of God is much greater than the human mind can understand. This peace will keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.  Christian brothers, keep your minds thinking about whatever is true, whatever is respected, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever can be loved, and whatever is well thought of. If there is anything good and worth giving thanks for, think about these things.

There are so many great things that can be pulled from these verses.  The two things I am going to concentrate on during this month of being THANKFUL are being full of joy and thinking on good things.

Leave a Reply

