Imprisoned

I have never been to prison.  For that matter, I am pretty sure I don’t even KNOW anyone who has.  (Yes, I lead a sheltered life, I know.)  However, I do know what it fees like to be IMPRISONED.  Imprisoned by negative thoughts.  Imprisoned by Satan’s lies.  Imprisioned by labels put on by myself and others. 

While reading Lysa TerKeurst’s book, Unglued, this week I came across this quote: 

“Trapped inside these straitjacket struggles was a girl dying to break free from all the self-defeating lables.  Some prisons don’t require bars to keep people locked inside.  All it takes is their perception that they belong there.  A soul who believes she can’t leave… doesn’t.”

Oh, how true this rings in my soul.  For so many years I have allowed myself to get comfortable in the prison of mean labels, negative comments and thoughts that are simply not true.  Therefore damaging relationships, building barriers and leading me off the path God has for me.  I have allowed Satan to take up residence inside my head for far too long. 

I am so thankful for the TRUTH found in God’s Word and that I have the Holy Spirit living inside of me.  Because of these two things, I no longer have to stay imprisoned.  I can choose to leave.   

“Now let your unfailing love comfort me, just as you promised me, your servant.” (Psalm 119:76)

“He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.” (Revelation 21:4)

“Understand, therefore, that the Lord your God is indeed God. He is the faithful God who keeps his covenant for a thousand generations and lavishes his unfailing love on those who love him and obey his commands.” (Deuteronomy 7:9)

“Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living.” (Psalm 27:13)

“The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is upon me, for the LORD has anointed me to bring good news to the poor. He has sent me to comfort the brokenhearted and to proclaim that captives will be released and prisoners will be freed.” (Isaiah 61:1)

And MOST IMPORTANTLY I know and love the One who died to set me free.  In John 8, Jesus says to the people who believed in him, “You are truly my disciples if you remain faithful to my teachings.  And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Dear Jesus, Thank you for freedom that is only found in You. In Jesus Name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Imprisoned

  1. Only speaking GOODNESS and LIFE into our lives – as we are keenly aware of the lies of satan and his nasty tactics!
    We are free in Jesus name – and will live life to the full!

Leave a Reply

