Weird vs People Pleasing

This morning I read a blog that completely backed up Jason’s sermon this past Sunday.  I want to share just a portion of it with you.  However you can read the entire blog at http://karenehman.com/home/2012/04/24/people-pleasing-passivity-overcommitment/

Today, lets look at two more reasons we crowd our calendars and have trouble getting everything accomplished; why we are resentful at the tasks we are doing (when….ahem….it seems others aren’t carrying their weight in the “doing” department).

I see two.

The first, (touched on by some of you in your comments yesterday) People pleasing.

We let the word “yes” roll off of our tongues without missing a beat; we sign up to help or volunteer to cook or make room for another outside commitment all because we are addicted to the approval of others.

Can I get an “Amen”?

Some of us will readily admit it. I am one such person. Yep, it is true. I want to be known as helpful, willing and capable.

It has caused me great heartache. Not only because I say “yes” too much and kick into overload but because when I do listen to God telling me to say “no” and do so, I disappoint people; make them mad. Then, well they go on and find another person who will say “yes” and I get left in the dust.

However, if someone just wants me as a friend so I will “do” and cares not for us just “being”, well then, do I really want them as a friend in the first place?

People-pleasing is a snare. It causes stress and tempts us to put our family behind others. You know, sign up to take a five course meal to another family who just had a baby or illness or death and then that night feed our own family leftovers or lunch meat sandwiches on stale bread.

Ouch! (Been there. Fed that.)

We have GOT to get to the place where we care more about obeying God than pleasing people. So, if through your walk with Him, He has clearly shown you that you are overcommitted and have no wiggle room available to take on one more thing, then politely decline and DO NOT FEEL GUILTY! (talkin’ to myself on that one!)

The Bible says in Proverbs 29:25 that, “The fear of man is a snare, but the one who trusts in the LORD is protected.” (HCSB)

What a word picture! Ever been tripped up in life, caught in a snare, all because you feared what someone would think of you if you said “no”?

We need to focus on the second half of that verse. If we trust in God, we will be protected. Our time will be protected. Our hearts and emotions will be protected.

Fear God, not man. (Or, in most cases, woman!)

As some of you know I have taken the month of April and committed it to taking care of my husband.  Well “the month of April” slowly boiled over into where we are now, half way through May.  However, I am thankful that I have taken this time to help Adam in the recovery process.  Even though there have been times when I really wanted to please others and do what THEY wanted me to do…

Just before this whole surgery process began I was challenged by Holly Furtick to remember that my ministry STARTS in my home first.  And I am thankful that I listened to those words.  I have been doing my best to minister to my family, and I am going to continue that task.  Even when our schedules refill to “normal” status and when meetings and “to-do lists” pile up, I want to please God by starting my ministry at home and letting it flow out from there.

Leave a Reply

