Loving Well

I have started reading a new book. It is called Capturing His Heart by Lysa Terkeurst.

I wanted to share one thought from chapter 1 that really resonated with me today. And now you may have heard it (or something similar) before. I know I have. But maybe you are like me, and have amnesia when it comes to things like this…

Instead of trying to be a good wife to win my husband’s approval, trying to be a good mom to win my kid’s approval, trying to be a good friend to win my friend’s approval, I now simply try to please God. I seek only His favor and follow His precepts. In doing this I am a good wife, a good mom, and a good friend.

I could add many other titles to those things I try to be good at- like daughter, host mom, sister, employee, mentor, Pastor’s wife, volunteer, etc. But when I try doing it on my own- without realizing that I must live for an audience of One- I always come up short.

Oh the freedom this thought can bring if we let it.

Dear God, help me to live to please You alone. Help me to see how to please You alone. And please let all the other roles in my life fall into place because I have my eyes fixed on You. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Loving Well

  1. I just finished reading that book. So AWESOME. There is so much great stuff in there HIGHLY recommend it. A warning though…there were some things in there (like not nagging at your hubby for not doing something you asked him a million times etc. ) that I was like ….crap….seriously…lol.

    My favorite part is when she talks about how men’s and women’s brains are wired differently and plays out conversations that she had with her husband before she figured that out. I won’t ruin it for ya but I died laughing! I swear if you changed LYSA to MARIA and ART to CHAD in the narative it would be pretty accurate. (And as ANDREW said that one day…When husbands and wives fight, one of them wants to die…LOL.. I will never forget that and I say it all the time now.)

    Ayway, it’s a great book!:-)

    • I am really looking forward to reading it! I love Lysa’s blog– so I am sure I will love her book.

      And hopefully this book will keep the arguing to a minimum and the “dying” to -0-!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

