A Worthy Life

This past week I read a blog titled What is Your Mandate for Life? (by Jeff Jones)  

Colossians 1:10 says, “so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way

So if I want to live a worthy life, what can I do to make that happen?  Having a mandate for life gives me a specific plan to live my life by.  I am not just floating from here to there and doing whatever feels right at the moment.  I am truly trying to live a life that is pleasing to God by following the plan He has given me through His Word.

Jeff gave his mandate for life and I liked it so much, that I think I will steal it.  Yes, some things had to change because of gender… but I like how he laid it out for all to see… the steps he is living by to be worthy and pleasing to God. 

Here is my plan:

(1) Maintain a genuine, growing, intimate relationship with God. (Matthew 4:4, Jeremiah 29:13) By having a daily quiet time for personal prayer and devotional Bible reading.

(2) Submit to my husband (Ephesians 5:22, Colssians 3:18, 1 Peter 3:1)
By allowing him to lead our family and some times make decisions that I do not like but ARE what God has in store for us.

(3) Be a loving and nurturing mother to my children. (Ephesians 6:4)
By being actively engaged in their lives through quality time and activities. (the scripture says “father” but the footnote says “parents” so I think mothers are included.) 🙂

(4) Have a lifestyle that promotes the kingdom of God as a member of my community. (1 Corinthians 9:22, 1 Timothy 3:7)  By living a holy and devoted life and being God-minded in my relationships in and outside of the church.

(5) Demonstrate good financial stewardship and give cheerfully. (Luke 16:11-13, 2 Corinthians 9:6-8)  By living within our annual budget and giving cheerfully to the Church and other ministries as the Lord leads. 

(6) Develop my God-given gifts to fulfill my calling as a follower of Jesus, a wife, a mom and the many other roles God has placed me in. (1 Peter 4:10)  By having a personal growth plan, including reading books and blogs that challenge me to become a better woman and closer to Christ.  

(7) Maintain my physical health through proper diet and exercise. (3 John 2)
By eating right and scheduling regular times exercise.

(8) Be committed to developing stronger relationships with friends, church members and those outside the church. (Proverbs 18:24, Proverbs 27:17)  By actively pursuing opportunities to build relationships one on one.

Do you have a life mandate?  If not, start by searching the scriptures to see what God wants you to be.  Then write it down and pray that God will show you practical ways to live a life that is pleasing to Him. 

Leave a Reply

