Living a Full Life

I think it is about time for me to pen a Jones family update.  It has been almost a month since I have done anything but commentate on my husband’s sermons.  And that is been for good reason.  Life has been very FULL these last few weeks and I have had very little words and very little time to try to come up with something to say.

For starters my son, Chris, (not by birth, but by love) died in a fatal car wreck on September 30.  (If you haven’t already, you should read the blog my husband wrote about Chris by clicking http://adamjonesblog.com/2011/10/01/this-is-chris-time-to-dance/ )

We have also been up to our eyeballs in soccer.  Andrew’s team finished up their season this past weekend.  I have been a very proud momma watching him learn some about the game and giving it his all.  I don’t know that he is headed for the pros— yet he has had fun.  His favorite position was goalie, even though this momma cringed every time he stepped into the goalie box.

(Andrew is the one in the pants...)

Our church is now in full swing of our new small group study “Not a Fan”.  This has been a hard to study do right on the heels of losing our son as it shows the transformation of “fan” to “follower” because of the heart attack of the main character.  However God is really working on my heart to become a true follower of Him.

And finally our life and family is about to change, yet again.  This afternoon we will be going to pick up a new exchange student.  This is not something we had planned to do this year, yet the opportunity fell in our lap and we are following God’s lead.  I can’t wait to see how this young man will impact our family and our community.

On the “grace is melting” matter… somehow I have managed to lose 4 lbs since September 22.  I say somehow because I am an emotional eater by nature and tend to not exercise when life is hectic and full of stress.  However  I am now at 224 lbs and holding.  🙂  I am hoping to get back into a routine to keep the pounds melting soon.

One last thing before I close, I have started reading a new book.  It is called One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.  (It was a birthday gift from Adam this year… one I am NOT waiting a year to read.)  And I wanted to share a few quotes from today’s reading…

But look at the remains of a morning and it’s obvious I’m craving it deep: more time to manage just the life I already have.  The work, the kids, the meals, the laundry, the ministry, a life so full it can seem empty.  And then, on top of all that, who has time to take on yet one more thing and keep a gratitude journal, count gifts?

You’re the one in dire need of time, that thing we can’t buy, what we sell of ourselves to get more of what we think we want, what we sacrifice to seemingly gain.  They say time is money, but that’s not true.  Time is life.  And if I want the fullest life, I need to find fullest time… Oh yes, I know you, the busyness of your life leaving little room for the source of your life.

I am currently striving to live a full life… some might say overflowing.  Yet, it is our life.  I am working to count the many gifts God has given me.  A wonderful husband.  A great son.  A great week with our son, Chris, before he passed away.  The opporuntiy to be apart of a young man’s exchange experience.   An awesome small group who is working to encourage and build one another up.  And the list could go on, and it will go on as I count the blessings He gives.

God, thank you for this full life.  Help me to always make time for YOU, my source of life.  Amen

Leave a Reply

