A Different Kind of Mother’s Day

This has not been the Mother’s Day I intended it to be, but it has been great.  It was our Yard Sale weekend to raise money for students to go to KNOW Sweat and CIY MOVE.  So needless to say, we have been busy.  However, within all the busyness, my husband did not forget it was a special weekend.  When I came home from work on Thursday, I had a sidewalk chalk message saying “Happy Early Mother’s Day”.  He had replanted my window flower boxes and got me two hanging baskets AND cleaned up the front porch!  What more could I ask for!!!

However, Andrew has come down with a nasty cold and therefore we had to stay home from church.  I really hate doing that but with a sick kiddo, I had no choice. 

One of my favorite parts of the day was when I told Andrew that we had to stay home from church.  He said, “That’s ok, Mommy!  We can still do church.  Let’s get my Bible.”  So we read one of the stories from his Bible.  Then we snuggled on the couch the rest of the morning, taking a wonderful Sabbath together! 

Another priceless piece to my day was getting gifts from both my kids.  Andrew made a very special poem and letter for me at school which he kept secret all weekend long, thanks to Daddy.  The poem read,

Sometimes you get discouraged because I am so small and always leave my fingerprints on furniture and walls.  But every day I am growing up and soon I’ll be so tall that all those handprints will be hard to recall.  So here’s a special handprint just so that you can say, this is how my fingers looked when I placed them here today.

To the right of this was Andrew’s handprint in paint.  Now if you know my son, you know this is HUGE.  He hated getting dirty and HATES finger (or hand) painting.  He also handwrote me a personal message: “Dear Mom, I love you becus you let me help with the dishis.  You are the gratis.  Love, Andrew”  That just about broke my heart.  And I had to cry a few (happy) tears.  (Thansk Mrs. Bishop)

Then when Adam and Aida came home from church, she gave me her Mother’s Day gift– a peanut butter chocolate bar, a sucker and a spanish Mother’s Day card.  She is such a jokster.   I think she has been around Adam a little too long.  

However, the most special of all Mother’s Day gifts was my two kids writing and playing me a Mother’s Day song.  Here is the video:

I hope you have had a wonderful Mother’s Day.  Either being pampered because you are a mother.  Or pampering your mother because she is special!

2 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Mother’s Day

  1. Dylan made a handprint/poem in kindergarten. I still have it. It hung on the refrigerator for YEARS and is dirty, worn and torn, but I will keep it forever!

Leave a Reply

