What are you treasuring?

Today is my “turn” to take the kids to school.  It only happens once a week normally, since Daddy drives right by there on the way to his office.

And like most families, we have a typical routine.  Mommy is always running late.  Andrew is usually super happy to get going, unless, of course, he woke up on the wrong side of the bed.  Aida is always on time and ready to go.  We get to the high school, Aida jumps out and we say our goodbyes.  But then, we get to the elementary school… and again, we have a routine.

Andrew always quickly unbuckles himself and climbs into the front seat to talk to mommy.  Man, I love these talks.  Sometimes we talk about what is gonna happen that day.  Sometimes mommy quizzes him about the words he is learning.  Sometimes we read a book.  But we always spend time together… even if just for a few quiet minutes, him and me.

This morning the topic of discussion was quite cute.  He was sitting there in the cold van (because I didn’t have enough time to go preheat it) and breathing really hard.  For the first time this year, he noticed he could see his breath.  He was sitting there fogging up my windows breathing out hot puffs of air as we discussed the hows and whys of breathing these hot puffs.

When I knew it was getting close to time for the bell to ring, we jumped out of the car and ran to the door.  He turned and gave me a kiss and then our quiet moment was over.

As I drove home to finish getting ready for work, all I could think about was this verse…

But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.  Luke 2:19

I cannot imagine being Mary.  Knowing that the Son you were raising was God’s.  But as any mother would do, she treasured the time they spent together.  And ya know, we still need to do that with our Lord.  Treasure those special quiet times.  Ponder over the things He is teaching us through His Word.  Long for those times when we will get to be together, just him and me.

I am gonna forever treasure my weekly talks in the car with my boy.  I know there will come a day when he just wants me to drop him off in the circle drive.  And then our talks will be over.  And so will our kisses.  But for now, I will treasure and ponder.

Thank you, Lord, for my son!

3 thoughts on “What are you treasuring?

  1. Grace,
    This brought a tear to my eye – I treasure and ponder the times I have with William and thank God everday for him!
    Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Am I the only one who did not get teary-eyed while reading this? I actually got all warm and fuzzy instead… 🙂 Like cuddling with a blanket and some hot chocolate. Cute, happy, wonderful.

Leave a Reply

