Loved by my King

Today has been quite eye opening for me… God has smacked me in the face a few times already and it is only 11 am!  So I decided to share them with you…

First I read a great facebook status by Debbie Knott.  She is always so inspiring and encouraging….

I know Perfectionism.  She calls my name and says… “You will never be good enough.”  And sometimes I listen.  I cower in a corner… Or I endlessly run. But it’s always about fear.  Then these words stop me in my tracks, grab me by the heart, and invite grace to speak instead.  Perfect love casts out fear. 1 John 4:18  I don’t have to be perfect. I only need to be perfectly loved.

And then I read a chapter in a great book entitled What is God Really Like?  The chapter I read today is by Clark  Mitchell and is about God being a reconciler.   Here are a few excerpts…

 As a slave, you live in a place of repentance; as a son or daughter, you live in a place of restoration.  As a slave, you live a place of performance; as a son or a daughter, you live in a place of peace.  As a slave, you live in a place of hope; as a son or daughter, you live in a place of healing and welcome. 

…but the truth remains: God is your reconciler!

You’re not a slave but God’s beloved child.

Here lately I have found myself trying to be perfect and living as a slave alot.  I fail to be perfect, I think of myself as less loved.  I forget I am a daughter of the KING, I return to trying to out-do everyone around me.  And ya know, it is tiring. 

When my son has a bad day at school, Satan throws that “not perfect” badge right on my chest.  When I feel as though I have disappointed my husband (for the 100th time), it rings in my head “not loved”.  But today I realized that I am listening to Satan’s lies about me rather than the Truth that can only be found in God’s Word…

I am loved. 

I don’t have to be perfect- God already paid the price for my mistakes. 

Today I am looking for that place of peace, healing and welcome — knowing I am a LOVED DAUGTHER of my King!

Leave a Reply

