Praising or Cursing

This morning I was once again challenged by reading through the Book of Matthew.  Here is part of what I read from chapter 15 this morning…

Jesus called the crowd to him and said, “Listen and understand.  What goes into your mouth does not defile you, but what comes out of your mouth, that is what defiles you.” Then the disciples came to him and asked, “Do you know that the Pharisees were offended when they heard this?”

He replied, “Every plant that my heavenly Father has not planted will be pulled up by the roots. Leave them; they are blind guides.  If the blind lead the blind, both will fall into a pit.”

Peter said, “Explain the parable to us.”

“Are you still so dull?” Jesus asked them. “Don’t you see that whatever enters the mouth goes into the stomach and then out of the body?  But the things that come out of the mouth come from the heart, and these defile you.  For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false testimony, slander.  These are what defile you; but eating with unwashed hands does not defile you.”

I heard a message at CIY this past week that touched on this subject.  The main point of the sermon (to the ladies, and you know this is where alot of us struggle) was “if you want to have influence, SHUT YOUR MOUTH!”  Man that hit home with me. 

Then this morning, I read, “are you still so dull?”  I felt the holy smack– “Come on, Grace.  We have had this discussion MANY times.”  For me, it is what comes out of my mouth that defiles me– makes me that sinful woman.  And ya know what, I need to shut it! 

This reminds me of the passage in James- I need to choose how I will use my mouth- praising or cursing!

Leave a Reply

