What have I been FLINGING

This past week I have been challenged to do a heart check… what I store in my heart?  who I hold in my heart?  am I allowing God’s Word to work on and lead my heart?  And finally today’s challenge is what is coming out of my heart? 

Matthew 12: 33-35  from The Amplified Bible says 33Either make the tree sound (healthy and good), and its fruit sound (healthy and good), or make the tree rotten (diseased and bad), and its fruit rotten (diseased and bad); for the tree is known and recognized and judged by its fruit.  34You offspring of vipers!  How can you speak good things when you are evil (wicked)? For out of the fullness (the overflow, the superabundance) of the heart the mouth speaks.  35The good man from his inner good treasure flings forth good things, and the evil man out of his inner evil storehouse flings forth evil things.

Today I was really struck with the word FLING-  it means to throw, cast, or hurl with force or violence.  I guess I had never really thought of my words that way.  Other translations say things like “bring out” or “produces”— but fling?  Wow, again, I never really thought about the words I say being FLUNG upon another person, but they are. 

When I am in a good mood and the good treasure stored up in me is flingin’, then it seems that I can fling that attitude upon those around me and affect others for the good.  But you had better be careful when it is the evil storehouse that I am flinging from.  The saying about “when Momma ain’t happy…” man, that can be so true of me sometimes. 

But perhaps, a better way to look at it is, I SHOULD BE THE ONE BEING MORE CAREFUL.  I shouldn’t be storing up the evil, nor flinging the evil.  I need to watch what I store up, who I am holding (or perhaps whose opinion I am working to please), and whether or not I am spending time in the Word so that my heart can not only affect me, but the others around me— all for the good!

One thought on “What have I been FLINGING

  1. Grace,
    LOVE your blog. Might send it to myself as an email just so I can be reminded everyday. Thinking in terms of “flinging” my words is powerful. Thanks!

    Love ya
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

