Trying to Think Orange…

So at church Jones (my husband’s nickname at church) and Kevin have been preaching about “thinking orange”… teaching us to blending two things to make them something more beautiful, the way God intended them to be.  It is really interesting to hear their two different viewpoints on the same scripture or idea.  This weeks scripture they both used was 1 Corinthians 7: 35 “but that you may live in a right way in undivided devotion to the LORD.” 

A point from each of their sermons seem to keep coming up in my life this week. 

  • Adam used a camping lamp as an illustration that we can choose to take the light with us or we can choose to leave it behind.  Same with God- we can choose to take Him with us everywhere we go.  Or we can choose to leave him behind and do it on our own.  1 John 1:6-7 says, “If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth.  But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” 
  • Kevin also brought up a different yet useful point— If God desires that I remain in my circumstance, then I will abound in it. 

So as I continued to mull them over yesterday and I got the opporuntiy to both USE the light that I had brought and attempt to ABOUND in the circumstance I was in. 

First, I was volunteering at the PRC as I usually do on Monday afternoons.  I was running late, also as usual.  🙂    Anyway, I got the priviledge to work with a couple that came in– the wife had just been told that she, at the age of 22, could no longer have children and she was very upset.  I got a chance to talk to her about her relationship with God, something that doesn’t typically just come up.  And I got to share with her that God could really help her in this time of uncertainty and being scared.  As I said, this doesn’t usually just come up– at least not in my sessions… because I hate my clients to feel as if I am just being pushy.  So I was using the light… even though I thought I was just going in to sort through baby clothes etc.

Then I got home.  Typically after sessions at the PRC with clients, I typically come home a little emotionally drained and I just want to sit and veg in front of the tv for a while.  Well that was not the case for this Monday.  A neighbor friend of mine needed to come and use my computer.  Long story short— I think she really just needed a friend to talk about some life stuff.  I have to admit it, but at first I was frustrated and wanted to rush her out.  Why today, Lord?  I just got done helping people… can’t I have some peace in my own home???  But ya know, then I remembered that I needed to ABOUND in my circumstances… so we started to talk.  And I think it helped her. 

SO my questions for you… are you taking the LIGHT with you from your pew at church?  And are you abounding in your circumstances?  If so, then Jesus Christ is being spread in your life and the lives of those you come in contact with.

Leave a Reply

