Looking out for each other

Beth gave some great tips about how we can look out for other women and their insecurities… here is what she said:

1. Stop Making Comparisons- I have a problem with this BIG time.  I am continually comparing myself to other women.  And I know that I need to stop it. 

“I tried to talk to her + she seemed really distracted= she hates me…. that’s exactly what we need to start catching ourselves in the act of comparison and tell ourselves to stop.  We need to roll our eyes at ourselves and think There you go with the bad math again.   Even when we’re convinced our facts are straigth, if insercurity enters a single digit into the equation, we can’t trust our summation.  2 + 2=5 is still wrong even if it’s closer than 2+2=9.

She also included Galatians 5:26 from The Message.  (I am not certain it is the best translation, but I think do not think it goes against what Scripture teaches.  And it is very applicable to this topic. ) “We will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse.  We have far more interesting things to do with our lives.  Each of us is an original.” 

2. Start Personalizing Other Women- Beth points out another scripture from Galatians 5:21 that says “the vicious habit of depersonalizing everyone into a rival” is a sin.  That is another habit I struggle with.  If I would start thinking of the person I am comparing myself to as another sister in Christ or another human created in the image of God, perhaps I stop and realize that she struggles too.

3. Don’t Trip Another Woman’s Insecurity Switch- this section was about watching how we dress in public, how we talk to each other and what we talk about.  We need to focus on building one another up, not tearing each other down. 

4. Be an Example of Secure Woman- I do desire to get to this place.  Where I am so secure with myself and my relationships that others would see that and want that.  Not in a jealous kinda way.  But in a i-wann-be-healthy-too kinda way.  Especially in the lives of the teen girls that I encounter.  I don’t want them to grow up and be insecure.  But I see them all falling for Satan’s lies all too often. 

Beth ended this chapter with Psalm 84:1 “How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord Almighty!”  For all the years I have read/sung/heard that scripture I have thought about heaven.  But in the New Testament we are God’s dwelling place.  He lives in ME.  I need to remember that this scripture can apply to me too… I am lovely.  God thinks so.

Leave a Reply

