The Power to Choose

Now this chapter really shouldn’t have caught me off guard.  The main gist of the chapter is this…

By chooseing to have a different reaction even prior to having a different emotion, we can effect an immediate sense of heightened security  The reaction leads to a new feeling, and the new feeling leads to more consistent reactions.  The result? We spiral up.

Now since I have been married to my husband for 8 years now, he has told me, “Grace, life is all about choices.”  And ya know, I have listened to him, but not when he makes this statement about something I am choosing that is wrong.  During 2007-2008 Adam and I were the parents of a 14 yr old boy named Chris (this is a long story and I don’t want to get into the details here).  During this year I probably heard Adam tell Chris that statement a million times (no lie- if you have lived with a teenager you know).  But it never really sunk in (especially in relating to my own insecurity until Beth said it).  I can choose to not be insecure.  I can choose to NOT react in a way that SHOUTS this lady (wife, mom, etc) is crazy.  But I can choose to claim my security- not allowing my circumstances to rule it, and KNOW who I am in Christ… a woman clothed with dignity and strength. 

Beth was honest enough to point out that it doesn’t mean that I won’t ever be hurt, disappointed, shocked, unsure etc.  But I can keep my security in tact through all situations.  Here is a line Beth says that helps to have in your mind…

You may have broken my heart and shaken me up, but you cannot have my security.  I will not give it up to you or to anyone else.  I am a woman of God, clothed in strength and dignity, and no one gets to take those things from me. 

One last scripture she shared… Hebrews 10:35-36 says “Do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded.  You need to preserve so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.”

Leave a Reply

