A Prayer for Help and Healing from Insecurity

In her book, Beth Moore writes out an AMAZING prayer… A prayer for helping and healing from the insecurity that I have allowed myself to be entangled in.  I have decided to just include some of the most meaningful parts here… since the book belongs to the library and I can’t highlight them in the actual book, I will “highlight” them in my blog…

Dear Lord, You alone know what insecurity has cost me, what trouble- even tornment- it has caused… you know how hard I ‘ve fought to play the game, but You also know that in the aftermath I’ve been defeated. I’m sick of faking….

…You have not given me a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind. That’s what Scripture says.  I claim each of those priceless traits as mine this day.  I don’t have to muster feelings I don’t possess or hang my head in defeat and shame.  Because of Your grace, I can come to You just as I am…

…You know be better than I know myself… YOu know every ugly or ridiculous thing I’ve ever said or done out of insecurity… As You reveal Yourself to me, I ask that You also mercifully reveal myself to me.  Grant me insight into patterns I’ve developed… Help me to trust that You only shed lgith where You’re willing to heal.

…As I beling this prayer of restoration, I ask You, Lord to help me take responsiblity for the insecurity that is my own doing.  My own fault.  My own sin…. Forgive me for nursing my ego until it grown so fat that everything touching it bruises it… Forgive me for thinking pitifully little of the person You’ve made me…

… This very moment I receive Your lavish forgiveness and Your complete cleansing and in Your name release all the shame that has come from self-inflicted insecurity.  From now on Lord, and every day for the rest of my life, heighten my conviction until I’m instantly aware when insecurity is my own making…

…You have been with me every moment, even when I felt there was no one to take care of me.  I give Your my whole heart.  Touch every broken and wounded place with Your healing hand…

…Help me to understand the gravity of this juncture: that if I do not seek healing and wholeness, I will instead end up perpetuating the cycle of injury.  Break the cycyle with me, Lord…

…Lord, help me to learn how to hang on tight to You when my life is rocked by dramatic change. Empower me to trust You and not to panic or fight for control.  Help me to stop confusing a change in my circumstances with a change in my security status.  When everything around me shakes, YOU ARE UNSHAKEABLE. 

…Father, help me to see where I am overly sensitive and where I put too much pressure on relationships.  Help me to see where I insiste on making a situation all about me.  I really want to change.  Help em to quit saying “This is the way I am” and remind me that I am capable of tremendous transformation with Your.  Delieve me from insecurity in my relationships.  Help me to cease being so easily wounded, but at the same time, keep me from growing hardened.  Help me to resign my position as a game player and manipulator without resigning myself to a life of misuse.  Help me realize it is pointless to demand others love me more or love me better.  Real affection cannot be coerced.  I cannot put a human in charge of my security without setting him or her up for certain failure.  Help me to stop using a person as my mirror and start seeing myself as You alone see me. 

…I thank You for all You have done to get me to this place and for the plan You have ahead for me… Please restore to my soul all that insecurity has stolen from me… Clothe me with strength and dignity.  Transform what drives me. Quell what triggers me…

…Make me the kind of woman a little girl could follow in dignity and security.  I actively and deliberately receive- and vow to keep receiving– everything that I have requested in Your will this day… Today on March 29, 2010, I receive my dignity back.  No one and nothing can take it from me because You are the One who gave it.  Help me to recognize that I’ve lost my dignity only because I have surrendered it.  Empower me to claim it back and hang on to it with all my might…

Amen

Leave a Reply

